Another unplanned diversion.

Last week was supposed to be a week of rest and refreshment after the intensity and joys of Holy Week and Easter. However, just prior to going on the break I started to get severe pains in my right shoulder. I thought I’d pulled a muscle but on Sunday Evening a rash appeared. The pharmacist suggested it could be shingles on the Monday which was confirmed by my GP on the Tuesday. Suddenly a week full of enjoyable restful activity became a week of antiviral tablets, cream for the rash and pain relief for the neuralgia. I was also getting anxious about my impending operation. Thankfully the GP was supportive, helpful and positive. Having prescribed the antivirals & cream she said “You’ll have to postpone the pre-op on Friday but I can’t see why the operation can’t proceed as planned. Let them know you’re on antivirals when you phone them at Castle Hill.” I did as she said and my pre-op is now planned for this Friday instead. I am relieved to say that each day I am feeling better, the rash is fading and I am progressing in the right way. Let’s hope and pray for no more “complications”.

When you hit a diversion you have to find another way. I had to find something to fill my hours between tablets and applying the cream. Music has always been an escape and pleasure for me, I have an extensive CD and vinyl collection. So, I put that to use! I read, sorry, I devour books, so that helped. I also love movies and so between iPlayer, Netflix and my Blu-Ray collection I watched a lot. Perhaps a foretaste of my impending time off?  Also had to slow down. Shingles is a virus. If you have had chicken pox the virus lies dormant in you. It flares in times when your body is run down or you experience excess stress. It also can be triggered by some cancers too and radio-therapy too. My body is telling me that I’ve been overdoing things and that I am stressed. Most of that stress is concerned with the impending operation. I am not always the best at slowing down and resting. I am going to have to become better at it very soon.

Published by caterwaulingcanon

I am the Vicar of Frodingham and New Brumby in Scunthorpe. All things I blog about are my own opinions and thoughts.

2 thoughts on “Another unplanned diversion.

  1. Hello, Philip. Sorry to read about your shingles. I had them 3 years ago on my forehead, I whent to the medical centre in Burton and theDoctor gave me some medication and to see her again in a week .I was concerned as my Grandaughters Wedding was nearly due. Any way the medication worked and I slowly started to improve. and was O K for the wedding. My shindles wern t very painful.. Sometimes life throws bad things at us. I wish you well, I am sure that there are better times ahead for you. Mick. Ward

    Like

    1. Thank you, Mick. That’s a big comfort and much appreciated. I’m feeling better each day and the shingles themselves are almost gone now – just about weary and the occasional bout of neuralgia. Thanks for the positivity too – I know you are right that better times are ahead! Philip

      Like

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started